Saturday, 24 October 2020 »  Login
Hyderabad News » Four TDP Rajya Sabha MPs To Join BJP
I am at

Four TDP Rajya Sabha MPs To Join BJP

Since the four form 2/3rds of the TDPs Rajya Sabha strength of six MPs, the anti-defection law will not apply to them.
Hyderabad | 20th June 2019
In a serious jolt to the Telugu Desam Party, four of its Rajya Sabha MPs are likely to join the BJP soon.

The four TDP MPs gave a letter communicating their decision to Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu. Since the four form 2/3rds of the TDPs Rajya Sabha strength of six MPs, the anti-defection law will not apply to them.

The four leaders likely to join the saffron party very soon include Sujana Chowdary, C M Ramesh, T G Venkatesh and Garikapati Mohan Rao.

Some MLAs and former MLAs of the TDP are also reportedly set to join the saffron party soon.

Chowdary and Venkatesh told the media in Delhi that they were joining the BJP due to their appreciation for the leadership and develpment policies of Narendra Modi.

Chowdary and Venkatesh were considered very close to Naidu, and their defections come as a surprise. Chowdary has however been facing the heat from the CBI for pretty long now for loan defaults reportedly to the tune of Rs 5,200+ crores by his group companies, and his defection to the ruling party makes sense (though he denies any such motive).

Naidu is vacationing with his family in Europe, and held a tele-conference with party leaders from there. He slammed the BJP for playing with the minds of his party leaders, and also the four defecting MPs for joining a party that declined special status to Andhra Pradesh. He said that the TDP had seen several ups and downs in its 37 years, and that such incidents would not affect it.

The Rajya Sabha has 245 MPs, with 112 of them being from the UPA and 93 from the NDA (after the four TDP MPs joined the BJP). The BJP is the single largest party in the House, with 75 MPs (including the four TDP MPs who joined it).
filed in:  Party Defections, TDP, Rajya Sabha, BJP, Y Sujana Chowdary, T G Venkatesh, C M Ramesh
Be the first to comment on Four TDP Rajya Sabha MPs To Join BJP! Just use the simple form below.
LEAVE A COMMENT has 700,000+ monthly visits. Tell Hyderabad what you feel about Four TDP Rajya Sabha MPs To Join BJP!
[no link to your name will appear, overriding global settings]
To preserve integrity, allows ratings/comments only with a valid email. Your comments will be accepted once you give your email, and will be deleted if the email is not authenticated within 24 hours.
My name:

Dissatisfied with the results? Report a problem or error, or add a listing.
{{ todo.summary }}... expand »
{{ todo.text }} « collapse
First  |  Prev  |   1   2  3  {{current_page-1}}  {{current_page}}  {{current_page+1}}  {{last_page-2}}  {{last_page-1}}  {{last_page}}   |  Next  |  Last


This page was tagged for
hyderabad June 2019 News
Party Defections news
TDP updates
Follow on
© Copyright 1999-2009 LRR Technologies (Hyderabad), Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. fullhyd, fullhyderabad, Welcome To The Neighbourhood are trademarks of LRR Technologies (Hyderabad) Pvt Ltd. The textual, graphic, audio and audiovisual material in this site is protected by copyright law. You may not copy, distribute, or use this material except as necessary for your personal, non-commercial use. Any trademarks are the properties of their respective owners. More on Hyderabad, India. Jobs in Hyderabad.